4 comments on “The Texture of Rust 1

    • They are very organic looking aren’t they? I wonder what process of chemical or physical degradation results in these strange patterns and textures?

  1. Superb shot… it has a softness about it that you wouldn’t expect to see on rusting metal- like a heap of sand !

    • This rust feature was something new to me. I have no real idea of how it was formed or why. At the moment my hypothesis is that corrosion products may have been precipitated on the surface of a limpet shell that was attached to the iron structure on the beach. I shall have to investigate with a knife next time I’m there.

Leave a Reply

